ATTRITION Music: Ani DiFranco

Artist: Ani DiFranco

Album: To The Teeth

Released: 1999

Review by: Punkis

Ani has come through once again with her 13th studio release, although this release seems to show a softer side of her music. Also for the first time (as far as I know) Ani used musicians from another band for one of the songs on this cd. Maceo Parker lends help with his incredible saxaphone playing while his son Corey Parker sings a soulful rap as the background lyrics to 'Swing'. Not suprisingly these two musicians are from the opening band of Ani's most recent tour.

Another standout song on the new cd is the title song 'To the teeth'. This song was written in response to the Columbine shooting last year and takes a stab at everyone from Hollywood to the NRA. The lyrics to this song are especially gripping including the opening line to the song "the sun is setting on the century and we are armed to the teeth..."

One of the things I have always appreciated about Ani's music is the fact that her lyrics have so much meaning which is a nice change as compared to the crap that is being played in regular rotation on the radio these days. Each one of her songs tell a story, some are obvious and some are very personal to Ani.

Another great song is 'Going once' which is a lot "jazzier" than Ani's music usually is as the song features a trumpet and trombome player.

All in all an excellent cd. It amazes me that Ani hasn't drawn more attention after consistently putting out such incredible music but in a way I'm glad its the way it is. I think it has kept Ani's music very honest. It's pretty obvious she loves what she is doing. Every one of her albums have been released on her own "Righteous Babe" records and she has never bowed to the powers that run the music industry. Give 'to the teeth' a listen. I think you'll like it.

Comments to punkis[at]

More Info on Ani DiFranco
Ani DiFranco Home Page
Ani Difranco in the UBL
Great Ani Fan Page
ANI Images, sounds and music samples
Ani Lyrics

1995 Ani DiFranco
1995 Imperfectly
1995 Like I Said (Songs 1990-91)
1995 Not A Pretty Girl
1995 Not So Soft
1995 Out of Range
1995 Puddle Dive
1996 Dilate
1996 More Joy, Less Shame [EP]
1996 The Past Didn't Go Anywhere
1997 Living in Clip [Box Set]
1998 Little Plastic Castle
1998 WXRV Presents: Live..
1999 Up Up Up Up Up Up

1998 Dilate [extra tracks]
1998 Dilate [extra tracks]
1998 Little Plastic Castle [xtra tks]
1998 Little Plastic Castle [xtra tks]
1998 Living In Clip
1998 Not a Pretty Girl [extra tracks]
1999 Up Up Up Up Up [extra tracks]
???? Up Up Up Up Up +1 [xtra tks]
???? Angry Anymore [single]
???? Not a Pretty Girl +1
1998 Women in (E)Motion
1999 Angry Anymore [single]

main page ATTRITION feedback